top of page

Planning Commission Members


William R. Hall


Townships,  2024

Our Chairperson, Mr. Hall has been with the Blair County Planning Commission for over three decades, first as a representative of the boroughs, then as a representative of the townships. Mr. Hall also serves on the Tyrone Municipal Authority Board and was previously a member of the Tyrone Borough Council. Mr. Hall is a retired engineer at PennState  and currently lives just outside Tyrone with his wife.


Patrick J. Baechle


Boroughs, 2025

Patrick Baechle is a retired architect who resides in Hollidaysburg. He previously operated a small architectural practice, which specialized in commercial offices, retail stores and multi-family housing design. He has always had a keen interest in urban design, environmental stewardship and regional outdoor recreation development. Mr. Baechle enjoys traveling, hiking, cycling and artistic activities.


James M. Dixon


City, 2024

Mr. Dixon, our Treasurer, serves as a City representative, and also serves on the Altoona City Planning Commission. He is retired from finance at M & M Mars and is engaged in several community activities, including the Master Gardener Program through PennState Extension. He lives in Altoona with his wife.

Nicola F Ardizzone_edited.jpg

Nicola F. Ardizzone


City, 2026

Mr. Ardizzone is retired after 41 years with the City of Altoona. During that time, he worked in both the Engineering Department and the Planning Department assisting with technical design, surveying, field inspections, deed transfers, crime scene drawings and court preparation for the Police Department, subdivision and land development review, Redevelopment Authority and Planning Commission staff support, and city Business Advocate. Mr. Ardizzone holds a certificate as a Paralegal and has completed studies in economic development and parking lot and site access design. He also enjoys hunting and fishing, Lionel O-Gauge model railroading, and woodworking. He currently lives in the Logantown neighborhood of Altoona with his wife.

Lawrence D_edited.jpg

Lawrence D. Carter


City, 2025

Mr. Carter is the newest member of the Blair County Planning Commission. Prior to his retirement, he was the Planning Director for the City of Altoona. His experience includes the health center development,  county planning and waste management, which also involves landfill construction and management. Mr. Carter enjoys woodworking, genealogy research and guitar playing.


Thomas M. Holsinger


Boroughs, 2024

Mr. Holsinger is retired from PennDOT.  He is currently the zoning and codes officer for Roaring Spring Borough. He represents the boroughs of Blair County on the Planning Commission.


Benjamin Postles


Townships, 2025

Mr. Postles is a township representative and is currently employed as an agricultural engineer by Penn-England Farms in Williamsburg. He serves on the Williamsburg Community School District Board of Directors. Mr. Postles resides in Catharine Township with his family.


Herbert F. Shelow, Sr.


Boroughs,  2026

Mr. Shelow is the Secretary of the Planning Commission and is a borough representative. He also serves on the Borough Council in Bellwood. Mr. Shelow keeps active with electrical contracting and other construction-related jobs throughout the community. Mr. Shelow resides in Bellwood with his wife.


Linda K. Smith


Townships, 2026

Mrs. Smith, a long-time educator, is retired as District Superintendent at Williamsburg Community School District. She was a recent member of the County Assessment Appeals Board, and is currently serving as a member of the Spring Cove School Board. She lives on a farm in North Woodbury Township with her husband.


Bruce R. Erb

Commissioners' Liaison

Ex Officio

Bruce Erb was elected as a Blair County Commissioner in 2015 and was re-elected for another term in 2019. Prior to his election, he was the Sr. Vice President and Director of Trust Services for First National Bank of Pennsylvania. He is a graduate of Juniata College and earned designations as both a CFP (Certified Financial Planner) and a CTFA (Certified Trust and Financial Advisor). In November, 2018, he became only the second Blair County Commissioner to graduate from Pennsylvania’s Academy for Excellence in County Government.

Commissioner Erb serves as chairman of the Board of Commissioners and also chairs the County’s Retirement Board and Salary Board. Commissioner Erb serves as chairman of UPMC Home Health of Central Pennsylvania and treasurer of the Griffith Family Foundation/Sideline Cancer. He also serves on the boards of the Southern Alleghenies Planning & Development Commission, Pennsylvania Counties Health Insurance Purchasing Cooperative (PCHIPC), Altoona Blair County Development (ABCD) Corp., Blair County Conservation District, Blair HealthChoices, and Blair Community Action Program. Commissioner Erb was appointed to Pennsylvania’s Election Law Advisory Board by Governor Tom Wolf in 2020.


He and his wife Cathy reside in Hollidaysburg. They are the parents of 4 children and have 7 grandchildren.

bottom of page